Moscow Tutors: UK National Curriculum Overview


The ‘basic’ school curriculum includes the ‘national curriculum’, as well as religious education and sex education.

The national curriculum is a set of subjects and standards used by primary and secondary schools so children learn the same things. It covers what subjects are taught and the standards children should reach in each subject.

Other types of school like academies and private schools do not have to follow the national curriculum. Academies must teach a broad and balanced curriculum including English, maths and science. They must also teach religious education.

Key stages

The national curriculum is organised into blocks of years called ‘key stages’ (KS). At the end of each key stage, the teacher will formally assess your child’s performance.

AgeYearKey stageAssessment
3 to 4 Early years  
4 to 5ReceptionEarly yearsTeacher assessments (there’s also an optional assessment at the start of the year) 
5 to 6Year 1KS1Phonics screening check 
6 to 7Year 2KS1National tests and teacher assessments in English, maths and science 
7 to 8Year 3KS2  
8 to 9Year 4KS2  
9 to 10Year 5KS2  
10 to 11Year 6KS2National tests and teacher assessments in English and maths, and teacher assessments in science 
11 to 12Year 7KS3  
12 to 13Year 8KS3  
13 to 14Year 9KS3  
14 to 15Year 10KS4Some children take GCSEs 
15 to 16Year 11KS4Most children take GCSEs or other national qualifications 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s